Since the College receives financial support from local, state, and federal sources, tuition is kept at a minimum. Tuition charges are set by the State Legislature and are subject to change without notice. See the Course Descriptions section for a description of semester hour credit.
North Carolina Residency for Tuition Purposes
To qualify for in-state tuition, an applicant must be a permanent United States citizen or hold a Permanent Resident card issued by the U. S. Department of Homeland Security. Also, the applicant must have maintained their primary and permanent residence in North Carolina for at least the 12 months immediately prior to the semester for which application is being made. To be eligible for in-state classification, the individual must document that their presence in the State during such 12-month period was for purposes of maintaining a permanent residence rather than a temporary residence; for example, enrollment in an institution of higher education. Further, dependent students follow the residency classification of their custodial parent or court appointed legal guardian. (G.S. 116-143.1)
All residency decisions will be made centrally via the Residency Determination Service (RDS) (opens in new window) website and students will receive decisions from the centralized system once the DCCC application for admissions has been submitted.
Subject to change by the North Carolina General Assembly
Tuition Table for DCCC
||NC Resident/In-state Tuition
|16 or more
College fees are used to cover the cost of such expenses as those associated with instructional technology, student activities, student parking, degrees, diplomas, special programs and events, etc.
|Student Activity Fee
||$35.00 maximum per semester
||$16.00 maximum per semester
|Accident Insurance Fee
||$1.25 per semester
|Campus Access, Parking & Security Fee
||$25.00 per semester
In addition to the fees listed above, certain courses have applicable course specific fees, including:
|Liability Insurance Fee
|HVAC Supply Fee
|Therapeutic Massage Supply Fee
|ZAS Internship Fee
|ZAS Vaccination Fee
|Truck Driver Drug Testing Fee
|Truck Driver Training Supplement Fee
|NIMS Certification Fee
||varies based on certification level
|EPA Certification Fee
|Medical Laboratory Technology Media Lab Fee
|IncludEd Textbook Fee
||varies based on course
Textbooks & Supplies
Costs of textbooks and supplies are additional expenses for which the student should plan. These expenses vary according to the program of study and the number of courses taken but approximately range from $200 to $800 per semester. These items may be purchased from the College bookstore or online at www.efollett.com.
Insurance covering accidents on campus or at College-sponsored events is provided to all enrolled curricular students through a required insurance fee. Information on the insurance is available from Student Affairs Office in the J. Bryan Brooks Student Center.
Refund Policy - Curriculum Courses
The refund policy is established by state legislative action and is subject to change without prior notice to students.
The College will make a 100% refund of tuition and fees if a student officially withdraws prior to the first day of the academic period as noted in the college calendar. To officially withdraw, it is the student’s responsibility to withdraw online or initiate the withdrawal with their Academic Advisor. Also, a student is eligible for a 100 percent refund if the course in which the student is officially registered is canceled due to insufficient enrollment.
The College will refund 75% of tuition if a student officially withdraws between the first day and the 10% point of the academic period as noted in the college calendar. Fees are not refundable after the course begins.
No refund of tuition and fees may be given after the 10% point of the academic period as noted in the college calendar. No refund shall be made for any amount less than five dollars ($5.00). The refund policy also applies to administrative and medical withdrawals and when the student is suspended or expelled for academic or disciplinary reasons.
Student Transcripts & Records
The College maintains a permanent record on each student, including a transcript of courses taken at DCCC and documentation regarding changes to this data. Student transcripts from other institutions received by the College become DCCC’s sole property, subject only to inspection by the student. Students have a right to review transcripts on file from another college but not to obtain a copy.
Transcripts of the student’s DCCC record will be sent to other colleges, universities, employers, and to the student himself/herself, when an official request is made by the student. A transcript request should be submitted a minimum of one week prior to the time a student wants their transcript sent.
In order to assure that transcripts will not be sent until a student has met all financial obligations to the College, the student must complete a transcript request and pay with a credit card online using the College’s Transcript Ordering Center (opens in new window). The charge for an official transcript is $5.00. Students who would like to pay for the official transcript with cash or check can do so in the Enrollment Center in the B. E. Mendenhall, Jr., Building. Official transcripts are issued only when individuals are in good financial standing with the College. Students may access their unofficial transcript through StormTrac.
It is the responsibility of the student to keep the College informed of their current address and contact information.